Board of Management


Asa Wright Nature Centre Board Members

Asa Wright Nature Centre Board of Management


Board Chairman, Dr. Judith Gobin

Board Chairman, Dr. Judith Gobin

The Board of Management of the Asa Wright Nature Centre consists of an approximately equal mixture of local and non-resident members whose number is typically 21. These individuals are leaders in their respective fields, and have an extensive history of involvement in the conservation movement in Trinidad & Tobago and/or their country of residence. The full Board typically meets twice each year to discuss policy-making, fund raising, project development and budget approval. The responsibility for day-to-day decision making is undertaken by a management committee consisting of the resident members of the Board.


Current Board of Management:

  • Dr. Judith Gobin, Chair, (Trinidad & Tobago)
  • Philip Schaeffer, Vice-chair (United States)
  • Patricia Ganase (Trinidad & Tobago)
  • Charity Krueger (United States)
  • Raymond Mendez (United States)
  • Dr. Robert A. Thomas (United States)
  • Courtney Buechert (United States)
  • Dr. Christopher Cox (St. Lucia)
  • Carver Bacchus (Trinidad & Tobago)
  • Romano MacFarlane (Trinidad & Tobago)


Honorary Members:

  • Dr. William Conway (United States)
  • Professor E. Julien Duncan (Trinidad & Tobago)
  • Dr. Carol James (Trinidad & Tobago)
  • Ian Lambie (Trinidad & Tobago)
  • Christine Toppin-Allahar (Trinidad & Tobago)

Members in Memorium:

  • Virginia Eckelberry (United States)
  • Richard ffrench (United Kingdom
  • Scholaticus Pike (Trinidad & Tobago)